Skip to content

Alexandre Herchcovitch na Hint Mag!

01/04/2009

alexandreherchcovitch03-753825Olha só que bacana gente, o Alexandre Herchcovitch deu uma entrevista bem interessante pra revista Hint Mag. Na verdade, não há  nenhuma informação nova mas só o fato de ele ser entrevistado por uma boa revista internacional já é um feito e tanto, especialmente porque nela  Herchcovitch é super elogiado com frases do tipo :

 “…when I saw my first Alexandre Herchcovitch show and witnessed the Brazilian’s impeccable, abstract sense of color, shape and proportion, not to mention his knack for provocation.”

“Ale is full of surprises”

E essa é a entrevista feita durante o São Paulo Fashion Week:

“What’s your first fashion memory?
I remember observing my mother while she was dressing to go out. I used to sit on the floor inside her closet and help her choose what to wear. I recall her wearing, in the middle of the 80s, an extra-tight stretch catsuit with leggings and a bat-sleeve sweatshirt, and always with extremely pointy high-heeled pumps. I remember another time she came home with very short hair, half blonde and half red. I thought it was beautiful!

Who were your childhood idols? Were they female like mine?
At first, there was my mother. I was always at her side. Soon after, when I was a teenager, Boy George showed through make-up and clothing that there are no physical limits when it comes to gender change.

You’ve told me you got your start in the drag scene of São Paulo. What’s the funniest escândalo from back in the day?
I started my career as a designer by making clothes for drag queens (not being one of them), prostitutes and transvestites in São Paulo. I dressed the first and most famous Brazilian drag queen, Márcia Pantera. I’ve made more than 300 outfits for her, but today she has none of them. Her shows were very aggressive. She did things like hang upside down from the club’s lighting, dive into the crowd, bathe herself in beer onstage. Naturally, the clothes could not survive this. One time, Márcia started undressing and threw the accessories I’d made for her into the crowd. At the end, the hostess kindly asked the audience to return them, since they were part of my collection, but to my surprise, no one did! I was shocked and sad with the loss of those precious pieces.

Pretend you’re in a beauty pageant. What would your evening gown look like? And your swimsuit?
The gown would be fairly simple, well-cut and structured, probably navy blue, and made with wool, my favorite fabric. The swimsuit would be made with fabric, probably the same as the dress, to match.

Do you wish you were less or more famous?
I never cared about doing what I do to be famous. I don’t care for fame. I actually run away from it.

What does the bad economy mean for you? Will you still show your collections in New York?
Sure! I don’t believe in anything that is interrupted and doesn’t have a sequence. A crisis serves only to motivate our creativity, and this is what the world needs, better ideas.

What’s the most exciting thing coming up for you? Any hot news or collaborations?
I will open a big store in Rio de Janeiro within the first half of this year. Less than a year ago, I joined the management group of a Brazilian brand, InBrands, and we are in a very interesting growth process. I’m also releasing a line of bandages with Band-Aid. And 2010 will be even better!”

alexandreherchcovitch06-737530alexandreherchcovitch07-737554

Legal né?

2 Comentários leave one →
  1. 03/04/2009 22:55

    O dia que o Herchcovith fazer absorvente ou estofamento de carro, eu prometo que não vou me impressionar.

    TODOS os lugares há Alexandre Herchcovitch.

  2. fashiondeluxe permalink*
    04/04/2009 18:48

    Pois é, ele é super versátil (e moneymaker!!)

Deixe uma resposta

